top of page
  • megan7283

Stages of Development - Part 1


There are five stages of Early Childhood Development. They are:

  • Depending on Others (0 - 6 months)

  • Exploring (6 months - 1 years 6 months)

  • I Can Do It Myself (1 year 6 months - 3 years)

  • I Think I am All Grown Up (3 - 4 years)

  • I Know I am all Grown Up (4 - 5 years)

In this series of blog posts, we will go over each developmental stage in detail.

The first stage, Depending on Others, is a very important stage of development, as this stage of child development forms the foundation for all later development. During this stage children should:

  • Make eye contact and follow a moving person or object with their eyes;

  • Make sounds, smile, and laugh;

  • Begin imitating sounds and chatter;

  • Reaches, explores, bangs, holds and shakes obejects with their hands;

  • Put objects in their mouth;

  • Responds to their name and turn their head towards sounds;

  • Sit;

  • Like to be picked up;

  • Is able to calm themsevles by sucking on their hand or pacifier;

  • Play alone for short periods of time;

  • Prefer to be with people they know well; and

  • Nap often (hopefully!).

In our next blog post, we will discuss the Exploring Stage.

#Development #DevelopmentalStages #ChildDevelopment

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page